Polish politicians provide opportunity for film-making

Sadly, it looks like the Polish conference (see Poland Here I Come July 27th) is not on.  Promises of funding from the Polish government have been withdrawn because the topic of donor conception is not a ‘popular’ one with Polish people and the politicians are looking to their ratings in forthcoming elections.  But the patient group in Poland is not daunted by this and have a Plan B.  This involves a ‘virtual conference’ via contributions on video, backed by a web site that has DCN’s translated Telling and Talking booklets and other articles, research and new stories from around the world.  The challenge now is to try to make a short film that they could use as part of the conference.  Seems to me this could be an opportunity to do something that could also appear on DCN’s web site and YouTube and hopefully we have the expertise within the family in form of would-be documentary film-maker Zannah and Peter, whose knowledge and expertise in all things technology and internet related we often turn to.  We even have a friend who speaks Polish and may be able to provide sub-titles!   Whether all this can be fitted in around helping to try and save UK Donor Link (lots going on in the background here but please don’t forget to write to Ann Milton), my various writing projects, ordinary life and the imminent arrival of Peter and Emily’s baby is another thing.  But we’re going to have a damn good try.

About oliviasview

Co-founder and now Practice Consultant at Donor Conception Network. Mother to two donor conceived adults and a son conceived without help in my first marriage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Polish politicians provide opportunity for film-making

  1. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  2. Katharina Wawrzon-Stewart says:

    Dear Olivia,
    I’m a DCN member and a professional translator and interpreter. I am also a native speaker of Polish. Please let me know, if I can help, this sounds like a project close to my heart. You can contact me on kwawrzon@yahoo.co.uk.

    Regards,
    Katharina

Comments are closed.