Thoughts on an August birthday

It’s my birthday today and the rain, earlier sheeting down in London and now greyly drizzling, reminds me of childhood August birthdays marooned far from my friends on some remote farm…my parents idea of a fun summer holiday.  August birthdays can be difficult for children as they come in the middle of the school holidays so friends tend to be away or forget.  My little sister was also born two days before my birthday so stole my thunder and often my party, but she did share the isolation of an August birthdate.  When we had Zannah in August I was determined that she should not be left out of birthday celebrations so we always had a party for her before school broke up and a family get together on the actual day.  Now it is to be our grand-daughter whose birth date will be in the dog days of August and it will be the challenge of Emily and Peter and the rest of us to make sure that she is properly feted.  Which day will that be?  We don’t know yet but things are moving so could be very soon….

About oliviasview

Co-founder and now Practice Consultant at Donor Conception Network. Mother to two donor conceived adults and a son conceived without help in my first marriage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.