Thoughts for the weekend

It’s been a good week.  I have completed my new booklet, now called Mixed Blessings: Building a Family With and Without Donor Help. Nina is proof reading it this weekend and hopefully it will be with the designer/printers next week.  Walter is nose to the grindstone fleshing out a bid for money to put donor conception on the map in a way that has never been done before. The latest attempt to set up a new interactive website for DCN is well under way with a team we have real trust in this time…and best of all, the sun is shining and we are going away for the weekend.  Suffolk is a county I need to return to from time to time.  I was brought up in London but many formative family holidays were spent on a farm outside of Leiston and that coastline feels like a second home to me.  My parents also had a spiritual attachment to this area.  Both brought up in extreme religions, each left their church as adults and raised my brother and sister and me without religious belief or affiliation. Something I am very grateful for.  But a little C of E church not far from Leiston drew them to it in a way neither quite understood and although they never attended a service there, they would visit and spend ages in the churchyard.  Maybe it wasn’t ages, but it certainly felt like that to me as a child.  None of us kids could understand why they wanted to go there and we would moan about it being boring and nag to leave…ideally to go and have a hot chocolate in the Susannah cafe (now sadly no longer there) in Aldeburgh.  I really don’t recall it ever being warm in Suffolk.

These days of course this is the place I want to go to as well.  Not just because my parents loved it but because their ashes have been buried there for the past thirty years and I like to tidy up the grass around the stones and chat to them for a little while.  Our kids, adults now, like to go there when they can, although they too nagged to come away as children.  Continuity.  It feels good.

About oliviasview

Co-founder and now Practice Consultant at Donor Conception Network. Mother to two donor conceived adults and a son conceived without help in my first marriage.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.